King Of The Savannah. Get To Know More About The Lion

Lions belong to the group of mammals in the animal kingdom, where lions are the largest of the African cats, they reside in most parts of Africa and parts of Europe, the Middle East and Asia, and lions are the second largest cats in the world after tigers, and in what follows some characteristics of the lion animal will be mentioned:

Lions are between 10 and 14 years old. The number of lions in the world is estimated between 23,000 to 39,000. The average length of the lion ranges from 5.5 to 8.5 feet, while its weight reaches between 330 and 550 pounds. Lions prefer to eat animals with medium or large hooves, such as antelopes, buffaloes, giraffes, and other wildlife. Lions can obtain the water they need through a direct source or through their prey or from some types of desert plants. A lioness lasts between 110 and 119 days, and the birth rate of cubs per pregnancy ranges from 1 to 6 cubs. A newborn cub weighs between 27 to 56 ounces and is blind and deaf at first. Cubs begin to hunt when they are 5 or 6 months old and remain under the care of their mothers until they are 1.5-3 years old. The International Union for Conservation of Nature classifies all lion subspecies as threatened with extinction due to disease, hunting, and habitat loss.

Types of lions

Before 2017, the classification of lions included only two species; They are the African lions and the Asian lions, so that the African lions include seven different species, while the Asian lions group consists of only one species, but after 2017 the lions have been reclassified into two main groups that include 7 subspecies, the following is a breakdown of these subspecies:

  • Burberry lions:

Known as the North African lions, they range from 9.8 to 10.8 feet in length and weigh more than 200 kg.

  • Senegalese lions:

It is known as the West African lion, because this type of lion is endemic to West Central Africa, and it is the smallest African lion.

  • Katanga lions:

Also known as the Southwest African lion, it is the largest of the lions, measuring between 8.2 to 10.2 feet in length, and weighing between 140 to 242 kg.

  • Maasai lion:

Known as the East African lion, this species is distinguished by its slightly curved back and long legs compared to other species, and the length of the Maasai lion ranges from 8.2 to 9.8 feet.

  • Transvaal lions:

Known as Southeast African lions, most male lions of this species have a black mane around their neck, ranging in length from 8.5 to 10.5 feet.

  • The Ethiopian lion:

Also known as the Abyssinian lion, this type of lion has been separated from the East African lions after genetic and phenotypic analyzes, and this type of lion is small in size.

  • Asiatic lion:

It is called the Indian lion, as this type of lions is spread in Turkey, southwestern Asia and the Indian subcontinent, and its weight ranges from 160 to 190 kg.

Organizing groups of lions

now after mentioning some information about lions and some of their types, it is necessary to talk about organizing groups in which lions are present, as lions are known for being very social animals, they exist in the form of groups called groups, and the group of lions often consists of a number of females The cubs and a few adult male lions, and the female lion in these groups usually hunt, and she prefers to hunt large animals that feed on the weeds, while the males guard and defend the group’s area, and these groups settle pastures and savannas, and male cubs are excluded The group when they reach 2-3 years old, so that these little lions remain free to move around for several years until they finally settle into a group of their own.